New Commissioners

Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Constitution, Derek Mackay, today announced the appointment of David Wilson and Alasdair Smith as Members of the Scottish Fiscal Commission Board.

Chair of the Scottish Fiscal Commission Lady Susan Rice said: “This is an important step as we move towards taking on our statutory powers from 1 April, helping to enhance tax forecasting in Scotland especially as the range of devolved responsibilities grows.

“By appointing Alasdair Smith and David Wilson, the Scottish Parliament ensures the Commission continues to have the highest calibre individuals guiding its work of independent economic and tax forecasting.”

Lady Susan Rice, Chair of the Scottish Fiscal Commission

Finance Secretary Derek Mackay said:

“The Scottish Fiscal Commission has provided impartial and expert scrutiny of the Scottish Government’s forecasts since its establishment, and provided Parliament and the public with assurance on their integrity. As the Commission moves onto a new statutory basis from 1 April, with direct responsibility for independent economic and fiscal forecasts, I very much welcome the role of Parliament in considering and approving these appointments, which I believe will strengthen the Commission.”

Derek Mackay, Finance Secretary for the Scottish Government

Read the full press release below.